Saturday, March 25, 2017

I Am.... A 60 Day Journey to Knowing Who You Are...

That is the title of the book.... "I Am: A 60 Day Journey to Knowing Who You Are because of Who He is". You can guess the He part. Yes, it's God. Whether you believe in God or not, self help books are always something that could help you discover more of who you are. Even if you only believe in meditation. The nice thing about this book is that it is not overly preachy about the lack of believe but rather experience and coordination between faith and life.

I felt reading this, that this was more Michele's journey that we were listening to and reading. While it had good insights and was a fast read, it was not what I was expecting. I was expecting more guidance and stepping stones based on the title of the book.

In her journey, you will be able to also feel that you are identifying with a woman, a mother, a wife, and human being. Her struggles are some of the same that we have experienced and you will share in some of them. Others, you may not understand why it was something she had to go through, or why she went back home from college permanently because someone made fun of her weight, but that is because it is her struggle and her journey.

There is the wish that this book would have been more guided focus or to include it but overall, it was a fast easy read with a few pages for each day. I think some people will get a lot of immense comfort in this book while others won't understand it all.

What are the 60 Days?

Here are the 60 Days:

Day 1: I am Created
Day 2: I am Formed
Day 3: I am Loved
Day 4: I am Beautiful
Day 5: I am Chosen
Day 6: I am Valuable
Day 7: I am Safe
Day 8: I am Holy
Day 9: I am Treasured
Day 10: I am Known
Day 11: I am Sinful
Say 12: I am Lost
Day 13: I am Fought For
Day 14: I am Proud
Day 15: I am not Abandoned
Day 16: I am Hungry
Day 17: I am Weak
Day 18: I am Heard
Day 19: I am Received
Day 20: I am Clothed
Day 21: I am Seen
Day 22: I am Accepted
Day 23: I am Wanted
Day 24: I am Welcomed
Day 25: I am Rescued
Day 26: I am Helped
Day 27: I am Marked
Day 28: I am Renamed
Day 29: I am Blessed
Day 30: I am His Heir
Day 31: I am Not Alone
Day 32: I am Led
Day 33: I am Called
Day 34:I am Fed
Day 35: I am Able
Day 36: I am Desired
Day 37: I am Carried
Day 38: I am Needy
Day 39: I am Filled
Day 40: I am Provided For
Day 41: I am Broken
Day 42: I am Healed
Day 43: I am Forgiven
Day 44: I am Saved
Day 45: I am Clean
Day 46: I am Comforted
Day 47: I am Delivered
Day 48: I am Free
Day 49: I am Empowered
Day 50: I am Redeemed
Day 51: I am Rewarded
Day 52: I am Renewed
Day 53: I am Radiant
Day 54: I am Lifted Up
Day 55: I am Honoured
Day 56: I am Satisified
Day 57: I am Sent
Day 58: I am a Light of the World
Day 59: I am Enough
Day 60: I am Going Home

Book Description

"From the moment a woman wakes until she falls, exhausted, on her pillow, one question plagues her at every turn: Am I enough? The pressure to do more, be more has never been more intense. Online marketing. Self-help books. Movies, magazines and gym memberships. Even church attendance and social media streams have become a means of comparing ourselves to impossible standards. Am I pretty enough? Hip enough? Spiritual enough? We fear the answer is “No.”
When a brutal bout with cancer changed how she looked, talked, and lived, Michele Cushatt embarked on a soul-deep journey to rediscover herself. The typical self-esteem strategies and positivity plans weren’t enough. Instead, she needed a new foundation, one that wouldn’t prove flimsy when faced with the onslaught of day-to-day life.
With raw personal stories, rock-solid biblical teaching, and radical truths on which to rebuild your life, I Am will help you: • End the barrage of negative self-talk with an empowering new narrative. • Refuse to ride the rollercoaster of others’ opinions and start believing what God’s says about you. • Stop agonizing over past regrets and failures and make peace with God’s sovereign plan for your life.  • Leave insecurity behind as you exchange temporary fixes for an identity established on God’s unchanging affection.
I Am reminds us that our value isn’t found in our talents, achievements, relationships, or appearance. It is instead found in a God who chose us, sent us, and promised to be with us—forever."

I would give this book ☀☀☀☀ out of 5. 

* I received this book in exchange for my honest review from Book Look Bloggers *
I review for BookLook Bloggers

No comments:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner